Assault and Felony Crimes
in West Virginia
Experienced Defense Lawyer to Represent You in Court
Criminal Defense Lawyers Stroebel and Johnson understand a criminal conviction can have serious consequences, whether it is a felony or misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is a less serious crime, often punishable by a one-year jail sentence or less. Felonies are more serious and are punishable by more than one year in prison. When you need an experienced defense lawyer to represent you on an assault charge, contact Stroebel & Johnson for a consultation.
Defense Lawyers with Offices in Charleston, WV and Lewisburg, WV
Any time in jail that takes you away from your family, friends, or livelihood can have a very real impact on your life. Stroebel & Johnson, PLLC can defend you against felony charges in West Virginia. With two convenient offices in Charleston, WV, and Lewisburg, WV, our lawyer works with you individually to plan your best defense.
Punishments and Fines for Felony Crimes in West Virginia
There are six classes of felony crimes in West Virginia ranging from sexual assault, to serious or repeat offenses of assault and battery, the distribution of drugs and most white-collar crimes. Class 1 includes the most serious offenses like murder; punishable by life imprisonment or the death penalty. Class 2 felonies are punishable by up to 25 years in prison. Class 3 felonies carry prison sentences between five and 25 years. Class 4 crimes are punishable by two to ten years. Class 5 carries a fine of $2,500 and jail time of one to ten years. Class 6 felonies carry a maximum sentence of $2,500 fine and five years in a state penitentiary.
Misdemeanors Defended by Stroebel & Johnson in West Virginia
There are four classes of misdemeanor crimes in West Virginia. Examples of these include such things as a first DUI offense, possession of marijuana, and minor forms of assault. Class 1 misdemeanors carry a maximum sentence of 12 months in a county jail and a fine of $2,500. Class 2 can give you six months in the county jail with a fine of $1,000. Class 3 and Class 4 usually do not include a jail sentence, but you may be charged with fines of $500 or $250, respectively.
Stroebel & Johnson, with offices in Charleston and Lewisburg, has defended hundreds of people in West Virginia charged with felonies and misdemeanor offenses. Put our experience to work for you.